Bear Rank Advancement

Here’s How to Help Your Scout Advance!

To earn the Bear badge, a youth must complete six required adventures, plus one elective adventure, and complete the Cyber Chip award for their age. 

The required adventures are:

  • Bear Claws is all about pocketknife safety.
  • Bear Necessities is all about camping and cooking and campfire fun.
  • Fellowship and Duty to God will often be an at-home because faith beliefs in Scouting are determined by the family and everyone's duty is different.
  • Fur, Feathers and Ferns is an adventure that fairly cries out "field trip", what with a one-mile walk, observing wildlife, examining plants, and planting a garden.
  • Baloo the Builder is about using tools and wood tools. 
  • Paws for Action is all about history/patriotism, basic emergency preparedness, energy conservation and a cleanup service project.

Parents/guardians or the den leader approve each requirement by signing the youth’s handbook. Youth receive an adventure loop for each adventure and, after meeting all requirements, have earned the Bear badge. After earning the Bear badge, a Bear Scout can work on the remaining 12 Bear electives, learning new hobbies and skills in the process.

In addition to those 7 adventures, there are an additional 12 Wolf electives that Scouts can earn to take a deeper dive into new hobbies and skills of interest.  More information about Bear adventures is available at this Bear resource page, where you will find fun ideas for dens to do as a group plus Family-Led Adventure resources for parents to do on their own schedules.